Mary Star of the Sea

Council 511 Past Grand Knights

1900    W.S. Bowman
1901    W.S. Bowman
1902    W.S. Bowman
1903    K. Fitzgerald
1904    M. J. O’Connell
1905    W. J. Maloney
1906    R. F. Richie
1907    S. J. Lottier
1908    J.  A. Kiley
1909    H. Leo Knell
1910    C. Larkin
1911    J. K. O’ Callahan
1912    W. J. Maloney
1913    K. Leo Knell
1914    K. Leo Knell
1915    C. C. Mitchell
1916    Geo. W. Carbil
1917    Geo. W. Carbul
1918    D. J. Antinori
1919    James Lamphier
1920    James Lamphier
1921    C. J. Siegrist
1922    J. B. Oakley
1923    C. B. Illig
1924    C. B. Illig
1925    Louis T. Lynn
1926    Ed. H. Foretich
1927    Thos. J. Tierney
1928    A. Byron Williams
1929    A. Byron Williams
1930    Danial J. O’Brian

1931    Danial J. O’Brian
1932    J. H. Howard Sr.
1933    G. K. Karbeck
1934    Alex McLeod
1935    Alex McLeod
1936    C. Wiessenberger
1937    C. Wiessenberger
1938    C. Wiessenberger
1939    X. F. Pacobi
1940    X. F. Pacobi
1941    J. C. Rutledg
1942    Jos. Musika
1943    F. J. Hines
1944    Jos. C. August
1945    C. B. McGurk
1946    C. B. McGurk
1947    S. Gugino
1948    T. C. Wittp
1949    D. W. Downer
1950    Jos. Poslik
1951    Leonard Bartone
1952    D. M. Callahan
1953    J. V. Cubans
1954    W. E. Chesnut
1955    Leonard Bartone
1956    Edward Chrysler
1957    Minitree Futon
1958    J. V. Cubans
1959    W. E. Doneson
1960    S. J. Detrine
1961    Mr. Garrison

1993    T. D. Donko
1994    M. P. Rutland
1995    R. L. Reynolds
1996    W. J. Dropski
1997    A. G. Kelly
1998    N. F. Caputo
1999    N. F. Caputo
2000    T. E. Mueggenborg
2001    M.C. Gaskin
2002    J.A. Seidnitzer
2003    J.A. Seidnitzer
2004    J. Cummings
2005    J. W. Cummings
2006    W. A. Meidenbauer
2007    W. A. Meidenbauer
2008    D. S. Montgomery
2009    J.R. Nicholson
2010    M. T. Headrick
2011    M. T. Headrick
2012    S.R. Moran
2013    E. M. Henry
2014    E. M. Henry
2015    W. Moore
2016    W. Moore
2017    P. Shea
2018    P. Shea
2019    J. D. Schaab

2020    J. D. Schaab 

2021    James R Crocker

2022    James R Crocker

2023   Neal A Lineberry Jr 


Council History

Newport News Council 511 was granted its charter on May 13, 1900.  The Charter Grand Knight was W. S. Brown who served in the capacity for three consecutive terms.  The initial meetings were held at the Citizens & Marine Bank Building which was located at the corner of 27th Street and Washington Avenue in downtown Newport News.

Meetings were held there until 1913 when the council moved to the Knights of Columbus Hall at 226  27th Street. 1920 Saw the next relocation to 3312 Washington Avenue.  In 1923, the meeting place was at 335 33rd Street which would later become the site of St. Vincent DePaul Elementary and High School.  From 1935 to 1940 the council’s home was located at 3406 ½ Washington Avenue.  In 1941, Newport News Council 511 moved to what would be its last permanent home for a while.  The building which was acquired housed the former Xavarian Brothers Boy’s School. The structure was located at the corner of 35th Street and Virginia Avenue (now Warwick Boulevard). 

During World War II, the National Catholic Community Services, a branch of the United Services Organization (USO) took over the building.  Hundreds of service men and women from nearby military bases were entertained there. At the end of the war, the facility was returned to the Knights of Columbus.  At that time, the club manager was Jerry Ross. He and his family lived in an apartment on the second floor. The first floor housed offices and the Council Chamber. Social activities took place in the basement where the bar, lounge and restrooms along with a two lane bowling alley were located.

In early 50’s extensive renovations were done to that area.  The bowling alley was removed and the entire floor was remodeled.  This project was headed up by Past Grand Knight (PKG) Bill Wiley.

The 1950’s and 60’s were very active years for 511. The Council inaugurated the Columbus Day Parade in downtown Newport News.  The Parade grew to become the largest ever held on the Peninsula.  The Council also sponsored the annual visit of the circus to the area.  These shows included the Sells & Gray Circus, Kings Bros. Circus, and last but not least the Clyde Beatty Cole Bros. Circus, the largest under canvas show in the world.  Proceed from sponsorship, which were substantial, funded the Council’s Charity Programs. 

Fish Fries were held every Friday night.  Members and their guests enjoyed these dinners as did many shipyard 2nd shift workers.  The boxed dinners were delivered to them at the yard for their evening meal.  Steak dinners and spaghetti were also available in the lounge through the year.

In 1951, the building was sold to the architectural engineering firm of Williams, Coile and Blanchard.  Byron Williams, founder of the firm, was a Past Grand Knight of Council 511 and Boyce Blanchard was a council member.  At this time 511 leased the basement.  The space that had formerly housed the bowling alley became the Council Chamber.  Active Social and Civic activities continued.  The lounge was opened every weekday at noon and many employees of the A-E firm as well as other offices located in the building had lunch there.  This proved to be a good source of income for the club.  PGK Jim Healy was famous for bringing many workers from the shipyard H F & P Shop 2nd shift for libation after their midnight quitting time. 

In 1971, Forrest Colie Associates (Formerly Williams Colie & Blanchard) sold the building to then neighbor, Hutchens Chevrolet and moved to mid-town Newport News.  Shortly thereafter, Hutchens had the building demolished.  At that point, Council 511 was essentially homeless.  Meetings were held in various members’ homes as well as the old City Council Chamber and the Public Library in the Hilton Village area. 

Struggling to stay alive and retain its charter, the membership decided to merge with one of the local councils.  In 1979, Newport News Council 511 joined with Mary Star of the Sea Council 5323 to become Mary Star Of the Sea Council 511

1962    W. R. Wiley, Jr.
1963    M. E. Clarke, Sr.
1964    R. M. Pacobi
1965    D. Brackin, Jr.
1966    J. V. Limanbri
1967    J. V. Limanbri
1968    J. Klopfer
1969    C. L. Glassell
1970    Unkown
1971    G. R. Egan
1972    J. Lina
1973    R. W. Curran
1974    J. D. Healy
1975    W. C. Healy
1976    R. L. Rogers
1977    J. S. Steiglman
1978    J. J. Doherty
1979    J. J. Doherty
1980    S. B. Zimmerman
1981    C. F. Steigelman
1982    C. M. Blake
1983    K. R. Clarke
1984    J. M. Flynn
1985    D. C. Cormicle
1986    A. R. Rodrigues
1987    J. M. Goodbody, Jr.
1988    G. R. Green
1989    J. C. Moore
1990    D. R. Boyce
1991    D. R. Boyce
1992    J. G. Caruso