Mary Star of the Sea

The Fourth Degree emblem features a dove, a cross, and a globe. In the tradition of the Knights these symbols "typify the union of the three Divine Persons in one Godhead, referred to as the most Blessed Trinity. The red, white, and blue are taken from the American flag and represent patriotism, the basic principle of the Fourth Degree. Styled with the continents of the western hemisphere in white, the blue globe represents God the Father. A red Isabella cross, for the queen who sponsored Columbus, serves as a symbol of God the Son. The white dove is a symbol of peace and God the Holy Spirit. Columbus' name in Italian (Colombo) also means "dove

Knights of Columbus John F. Kennedy Assembly 1164

Each ‘degree’ of the Knights of Columbus is associated with a particular virtue, the fourth being “Patriotism”. Consequently, the 4th Degree is often known as ‘The Patriotic Degree’.

The requirements for joining the 4th are that a brother Knight must have been a third degree member in good standing, be an exemplary Catholic, and be of sound citizenship of his country.,

The Fourth Degree is frequently regarded as an honorary title but should rather be thought of in terms of service to church and country, and the goals of the Fourth Degree may be summarised as the promotion of the ideals of Catholicism and Patriotism side by side.

These goals may be stated as:

+ To promote and strengthen the patriotic spirit of the civic community.       

+ To educate all, both in the teachings of Holy Mother Church, and the history of our nation.

+ To promote the highest type of citizenship for the preservation of our democratic government.

+ To oppose dissemination and spread of doctrine dangerous to our form of government, and to the       Divine law of faith and morality.

+ To support by word and deed, the duly constituted authorities of local, state and national government, and to recognize excellence in public life. It is not unusual to find Fourth Degree Knights participating visibly in church events, such as Eucharistic processions, and others, and in the community, standing up for the unborn and the elderly at Pro-Life events, and commemorating the sacrifices of previous generations on Remembrance Day.

The Fourth Degree

Old Glory “The Flag of the United State of America”. “We Love It and Shall Ever Defend It”. The Flag represents freedom, liberty, Patriotism, Our Constitution and Bill of Rights. Fourth Degree Knights act on these principles and what is right and honorable. “How”? By supporting and defending truth in the public arena. Protecting faith in civic life, such as the American examples of “One Nation Under God” in the Pledge of Allegiance and “In God We Trust’ on currency. Funding, restoring, and serving in Church initiatives and events. Patriotism, the Fourth Principle of our Order is Loyalty to that Principle. Fourth Degree Knights hold unwaveringly to what is right and honorable. Fourth Degree Knights are committed to building lives of character.

Patriotism and Pride in one’s nation is the driving force behind more than 250,000 Fourth Degree Members in over 2,200 Fourth Degree Assemblies. The Fourth Degree is the highest and most prestigious degree within the Knights of Columbus. It is a group of outstanding Sir Knights who are dedicated to the service of their Church, their country and our Order. These men are unified in the Fourth Degree when duty extends beyond our own lives, beyond how we lead our families and into how we serve our fellow man.

Honoring the Legacy of Knighthood: The Honor Guard is an elective division of the Fourth Degree, whose distinctive presence in parades, wreath-laying ceremonies, Flag Retirements, wakes/funerals and Catholic functions is a visible reminder of our service to the community. Honor Guard members wear their colors with pride and honor, knowing they represent the best of the Knights of Columbus.

The need for strong role models has never been greater. If the sanctity of life, family values, and true religious freedom are to survive, democratic nations need greater commitment from people of faith. That’s what the Fourth Degree Represents. We are the pinnacle of Knighthood. We live, serve and protect the truth.

It’s an Honor.